Ethnography Topic

For my Ethnography piece on the Health/Medical Field topic, I plan to write about something that I deal with every day: a doctor’s office. Although I work at a doctor’s office and more or less see the same things every day, I feel as though this assignment will give me a chance to try and look at things a little differently. I plan to pay attention to more details. Things that I will cover in my Ethnography include but are not limited to: the general dynamic of the office, behavior of coworkers, the schedule of doctor’s/practitioners on a day to day basis, and the interactions with patients (anonymously of course).

I think it will be interesting to try and look at something I see/deal with every day from a different perspective. Also a piece like this will give me a chance to grow as a writer because it is something that will challenge me. This is not a piece that is similar to anything I have ever done before, therefore my level of comfort isn’t very high. I enjoy the idea of challenging myself to think outside the box to write a decent piece.

One thought on “Ethnography Topic

  1. Sounds like a very workable plan! Concentrate first on getting down some notes. (Of course, confidentiality an issue!) Organizing an ethnography can be a challenge, but comforting to have a pile of details to work from. You might get some good ideas by looking over health ethnographies that others have found–see links to students writing on health on master list of blogs by theme: http://bccenglish11.edublogs.org/master-list/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *